Thomas Venker
Wed 17.10 20:00 - 21:30
Videodroom

LENA WILLIKENS & SARAH SZCZESNY + AFTERPARTY CLAIR OBSCUR

'Phantom Kino Ballett'
Wed 17.10
20:00 - 21:30
  • Wed 17.10
    20:00 - 21:30
    DOMZAAL

An hallucinatory audiovisual collage

 ‘Phantom Kino Ballett’ is a 54-minute experimental video in which quotes from film scenes, snippets from interviews and spectres meet visual art, painted costumes, stroboscopic light and smoke machines. The result is an expanded-cinema performance and an hallucinatory audiovisual collage.

Top producer Lena Willikens and artist Sarah Szczesny join forces for ‘Phantom Kino Ballett’, together creating an ever-mutating spirit world. ‘Phantom Kino Ballett’ is one giant sound bite featuring “black theatre, Holly Woodlawn´s nervous breakdowns, strobe and dance music, arpeggiated anime, Mario Montez´ mobilee, kinetic costume and Maria Callas´ chiffre.”

 + Free afterparty by Clair Obscur

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Lena Willikens is one of Germany’s current top DJs and producers. For five years now she has been a resident of the famous club Salon Des Amateurs in Dusseldorf as well as one of the driving forces behind Cómeme Records. It was on this label that she released her first EP in 2015: ‘Phantom Delia’, a juicy serving of drone, EBM, ghosthouse and no-wave grooves. Catchy and edgy, Willikens’ live performances never fail to impress.

Recently the German artist has focused on creating live performances to accompany film showings. For her debut she created a spellbinding soundtrack for the Japanese film ‘Japanese Girls from the Harbour’. Armed with only a theremin, loop pedal and some turntables, she managed to create the ultimate spooky, melancholy atmosphere. ‘Phantom Kino Ballett’ is her most recent feat of musical mastery.

Credits

€10 / 7 (presale)
Free entrance for Subbacultcha members
+ free afterparty at Vooruit Café by Clair Obscur (22:00)

beeld / image © Thomas Venker
n het kader van / in the frame of: Film Fest Gent

  

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Thomas Venker
mer. 17.10 20:00 - 21:30
Videodroom

LENA WILLIKENS & SARAH SZCZESNY + AFTERPARTY CLAIR OBSCUR

'Phantom Kino Ballett'
mer. 17.10
20:00 - 21:30
  • mer. 17.10
    20:00 - 21:30
    DOMZAAL

Un collage audiovisuel et hallucinogène

'Phantom Kino Ballett' est une vidéo expérimentale de 54 minutes dans laquelle des citations de films, des morceaux d’interview et du Spoken Word sont mixés avec des arts plastiques, des costumes peints, des lumières stroboscopiques et des machines à fumée. Le résultat : une performance expanded cinéma et un collage audiovisuel hallucinogène.

'Phantom Kino Ballett' est une collaboration entre l’excellente productrice Lena Willikens et l’artiste Sarah Szcze. Le duo crée un monde fantasmagorique en mutation perpétuelle. ‘Phantom Kino Ballett’ est un énorme clip audio, « avec du black theatre, des pétages de plombs de l’actrice Holly Woodlawn, de la musique strobe et dance, des anime aux arpèges, du Mario Montez, des costumes cinétiques et du Maria Callas. »

 + Free afterparty by Clair Obscur

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

Lena Willikens est l’une des DJ et producteurs phares du moment. Elle est déjà artiste en résidence au fameux Salon Des Amateurs de Düsseldorf depuis cinq ans et est également le moteur de Cómeme Records. C’est sur ce label qu’elle sort son premier EP en 2015 : ‘Phantom Delia’, un mix juteux de drone, EBM, ghosthouse et grooves no-wave. En live elle est à la fois accrocheuse et piquante.

Récemment, l’allemande s’est lancée dans la création de performances live accompagnant des projections de films. A ses tous débuts, elle avait créé une BO impressionnante pour le film nippon ‘Les Jeunes Filles japonaises du port’. Avec pour seules armes un thérémine, une pédale et quelques tourne-disques, elle réussit à créer l’ultime ambiance à la fois flippante et mélancolique. 'Phantom Kino Ballett' est son exploit le plus récent.
 

Crédits

€10 / 7 (presale)
Free entrance for Subbacultcha members
+ free afterparty at Vooruit Café by Clair Obscur (22:00)

beeld / image © Thomas Venker
n het kader van / in the frame of: Film Fest Gent

  

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies