© Ilan Manouach
Sat 07.03 14:30 - 15:30
Women and Children First

Ilan Manouach & Maria Arnal

‘Tangible Natives’
Sat 07.03
14:30 - 15:30
  • Sat 07.03
    14:30 - 15:30
    Mokabon

How do you translate music into a tangible text?

During WOMEN AND CHILDREN FIRST, Ilan Manouach and Maria Arnal will work with participants both with and without a visual impairment. Manouach will accompany them in a search for alternative ways of ‘reading’ music. This diversity of people and approaches will be reflected in a new music score, the shared expression of the participants. On the last day of the festival you can experience – and feel! – the result of this workshop live.

Improvisation and collaboration are unifying themes in the oeuvre of the Greek avant-garde drawing artist and musician Ilan Manouach. In ‘Tangible Natives’ he combines these two artistic practices. Using Shapereader – a system originally designed for people with a visual disability – Manouach translates music into a tangible, tactile text. ‘Tangible Natives’ is an experiment that seeks to break through the hegemony of conventional music notation.

“Throughout all his activities, Manouach remains an energetic, engagé avant-gardist whose work remains unsatisfied with conventional ideas or forms”

World Literature Today

PRACTICAL

Sat 07.03 - 18:00 & 19:30 Mokabon (presentation)
stage / performance / workshop
free to participate, registration required
language: no problem
15 min. (presentation)

Credits

the development of the general artistic, research and educational activities of ‘Tangible Natives’ are part of Ilan Manouach’s residency at the Onassis Lab in Athens as Onassis Digital Fellow - ‘Tangible Natives’ was possible with the support of the Outset Contemporary Art Fund (Greece)

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Ilan Manouach
sam. 07.03 14:30 - 15:30
Women and Children First

Ilan Manouach & Maria Arnal

‘Tangible Natives’
sam. 07.03
14:30 - 15:30
  • sam. 07.03
    14:30 - 15:30
    Mokabon

Comment traduire la musique en un texte palpable ?

Au cours de WOMEN AND CHILDREN FIRST, Ilan Manouach travaille pendant cinq jours avec des personnes handicapées visuelles ou non. Manouach part avec elles en quête de manières alternatives pour « lire » la musique. Cette diversité se reflète dans une nouvelle partition musicale, une expression commune des participants. Le dernier jour du festival, vous pouvez vivre en direct ce workshop. Et le (res)sentir, bien entendu. 

L’improvisation et la collaboration constituent le fil rouge à travers l’œuvre du dessinateur-musicien d’avant-garde grec Ilan Manouach. Dans « Tangible Natives », il combine deux pratiques artistiques. À l’aide du Shapereader – un système conçu à l’origine pour les personnes handicapées visuelles - Manouach traduit de la musique en un texte tactile et palpable. « Tangible Natives » est une expérience qui entend briser l’hégémonie de la notation musicale traditionnelle.

“Throughout all his activities, Manouach remains an energetic, engagé avant-gardist whose work remains unsatisfied with conventional ideas or forms”

World Literature Today

INFO PRATIQUES

ma 03 au sa 07.03 inclus – permanent Mokabon
sa 07.03 - 18:00 & 19:30 Mokabon (présentation)
podium / performance / workshop
gratuit moyennant réservation
la langue n’est pas un problème
15 min. (présentation)

Crédits

de ontwikkeling van de algemene artistieke, onderzoeks- en educatieve activiteiten voor ‘Tangible Natives’ maken deel uit van de residentie van Ilan Manouach in het Onassis Lab in Athene, als Onassis Digital Fellow - ‘Tangible Natives’ werd mogelijk gemaakt met de steun van het Outset Contemporary Art Fund (Griekenland) - in samenwerking met: Zicht op Cultuur-Slechtzienden & Blinden Platform Vlaanderen - met de steun van: Koning Boudewijnstichting

 

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies