Juana Molina
© Antonella Arismendi
Wed 01.04 20:00 - 23:00

Juana Molina

For Fun Tour
Wed 01.04
20:00 - 23:00
  • Wed 01.04
    20:00 - 23:00
    BALZAAL

Experimental pop fairy goes punk

The Argentinian Juana Molina is the unparalleled mistress of mysterious, experimental pop. She made a name for herself with gems like ‘Wed 21’ (2013) and ‘Un Día’ (2008). She had people reeling in 2017 with the release of the masterful ‘Halo’, which the Sunday Times called “an album veering on genius”. “Unexpected brilliance” echoed Mojo. “Endlessly bewitching” gushed Mixmag. In 2019 Molina is back with ‘ForFun’, four punk (!) renditions of previous songs. Hear them played live for the first time on Belgian soil at Vooruit.

‘ForFun’ has a fun origin story. The year is 2018 and Molina arrives at the backstage area of the Roskilde festival. She discovers that her bags and gear have gone missing at the airport. All she has on her is her guitar. The band decides, then and there, to play the set anyway, using the instruments that happen to be on stage: a drum kit, a keyboard and a guitar. The set was comprised solely of wild, half-improvised versions of Juana’s songs. The crowd went wild.

This experience gave Molina the idea to rework four songs in the same punky style. The result is the EP ‘ForFun’, leading with the advance single ‘Paraguaya Punk’.

Timetable

Timetable TBA!

“‘Halo’ dips deep into the unknown and brings back unexpected brilliance.”

Mojo

Buy tickets with a discount

If you order 3 or more tickets, you will get a discount of up to 20%! Choose the events you wish to attend, buy your season tickets in one order and enjoy the discounted price!

Order season tickets

PRACTICAL

wo 01.04 - 20:00 Balzaal
muziek / experimenteel / punk
€21 (at the door) / 18 (presale)

Cookies
Kunstencentrum Vooruit maakt gebruik van cookies. Omdat wij jouw privacy willen waarborgen én de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van je bezoek aan onze website willen verbeteren. Wij vinden het belangrijk dat je weet hoe en waarom wij deze gebruiken.
Meer informatie over jouw privacy & cookies

Juana Molina
© Antonella Arismendi
mer. 01.04 20:00 - 23:00

Juana Molina / support: Sign LIbra

For Fun Tour
mer. 01.04
20:00 - 23:00
  • mer. 01.04
    20:00 - 23:00
    BALZAAL

Une fée du pop expérimental vire au punk

La chanteuse argentine Juana Molina est la maîtresse inégalée du pop expérimental mystérieux. Elle s’est déjà fait remarquer dans le passé avec des perles telles que « Wed 21 » (2013) et « Un Día » (2008). Après la sortie du chef-d’œuvre « Halo » (2017), tout le monde succombe. « Une brillance inattendue, » titre Mojo, « Infiniment ensorcelant » selon Mixmag, et The Sunday Times qualifie sans détours « Halo » de « un album proche du génie. » En 2019, Molina dévoile « ForFun », quatre versions punk (!) de morceaux antérieurs. On pourra les entendre en direct pour la première fois en Belgique, au Vooruit.

L’histoire de la création de « ForFun » est peu ordinaire. Lorsque la Molina arrive dans les coulisses du festival de Roskilde en 2018, elle découvre que ses bagages et son matériel se sont perdus quelque part à l’aéroport. La seule chose qu’elle a sous la main, c’est sa guitare. Le groupe décide sur place de jouer son programme, mais alors uniquement avec les instruments qui sont déjà sur la scène : une batterie, un clavier et une guitare. Le programme comprenait uniquement des versions sauvages, semi-improvisées, des chansons de Juana. L’accueil du public fut délirant.

Cette expérience a donné l’idée à Juana Molina de retravailler quatre morceaux dans le même style punky. Le résultat est l’EP « ForFun », avec le single pilote « Paraguaya Punk » comme premier fait d’armes.

Timetable

Timetable TBA!

“‘Halo’ dips deep into the unknown and brings back unexpected brilliance.”

Mojo

Info pratiques

wo 01.04 - 20:00 Balzaal
muziek / experimenteel / punk
€21 (à la porte) / 18 (prévente)

Cookies
Kunstencentrum Vooruit maakt gebruik van cookies. Omdat wij jouw privacy willen waarborgen én de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van je bezoek aan onze website willen verbeteren. Wij vinden het belangrijk dat je weet hoe en waarom wij deze gebruiken.
Meer informatie over jouw privacy & cookies