Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren' / Poor Isa
© Oona Libens
Thu 21.11 20:00 - 23:00
Vooruit & Kraak present: EASTERN DAZE 2019

Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren'

support: Poor Isa
Thu 21.11
20:00 - 23:00
  • Thu 21.11
    20:00 - 23:00
    MIRY Concertzaal (Biezekapelstraat 9, 9000 Gent)

Premiere of a new audiovisual project

Day two of EASTERN DAZE. This time we’re hopping over to the MIRY Concert Hall for the premiere of ‘Het Moederkoren’ (Ergot of Rye), a hallucinogenic trip into the dark Middle Ages. Support act Poor Isa combines subtle nuance with whispering improvisation.


Razen & Oona Libens - 'Het Moederkoren'

At EASTERN DAZE, visual artist and musician Oona Libens and Razen – the group led by Brecht Ameel and Kim Delcour – present the premiere of their new audiovisual project. ‘Het Moederkoren’ is a reflection on ecstatic experiences and hallucinations from the Middle Ages. Razen and Libens share a predilection for forgotten analogue technologies. ‘The Moederkoren’ is a dialogue, both musical and visual, between improvising artists.

The work of Oona Libens – seen at VIDEODROOM last year during a sold-out show at Gouvernement – can be situated in the field of media archaeology. Using primitive tools, analogue projection techniques, shadow and light, she creates visual audio plays that are a cross between abstract animation films and educational documentaries.

Razen explores unorthodox musical worlds by means of improvisation using old, half-forgotten instruments such as the shawm, monochord, sārangī and hurdy-gurdy. The ensemble has impressed packed venues from concert stages to the legendary Club Berghain in Berlin, to the little church at Dranouter. Their new album, ‘Ayîk Adhîsta Adhîsta Ayîk’, will be released on the KRAAK label on 28 September, marking the group’s tenth year together.

 

 

Poor Isa 

Ruben Machtelinckx and Frederik Leroux, AKA Poor Isa, are coming to present their latest work. Played with a combination of prepared banjo and woodblocks, their improvisations flow into rippling compositions, enriched with subtle nuances and scarcely audible sounds.

Timetable

20:00 Doors
20:30 Poor Isa
21:30 Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren' 

Once a very ‘rational’ looking person came up to me after a show with tears in his eyes — that’s success to me!

Oona Libens

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

PRACTICAL

Thu 21.11 - 20:00 Miry Concertzaal (Biezekapelstraat 9, 9000 Gent
€13 (add) / 10 (vvk)
Music / experimenteel / minimal / impro

Credits

‘Het Moederkoren’ a co-production by Vooruit, Kraak, MIRY Concertzaal & De Studio

      

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren' / Poor Isa
© Oona Libens
jeu. 21.11 20:00 - 23:00
Vooruit & Kraak present: EASTERN DAZE 2019

Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren'

support: Poor Isa
jeu. 21.11
20:00 - 23:00
  • jeu. 21.11
    20:00 - 23:00
    MIRY Concertzaal (Biezekapelstraat 9, 9000 Gent)

Première d’un nouveau projet audiovisuel

2e jour d’EASTERN DAZE. Cette fois, nous déménageons vers la salle de concert MIRY pour la première de « Het Moederkoren » (l’ergot de seigle), un trip hallucinogène vers le sombre Moyen Âge. Le support Poor Isa combine les nuances subtiles avec des improvisations chuchotées.

Razen & Oona Libens - 'Het Moederkoren'

Au cours d’EASTERN DAZE, l’artiste figurative et musicienne Oona Libens et Razen – le groupe autour de Brecht Ameel et Kim Delcour – présentent en première leur nouveau projet audiovisuel. « Het Moederkoren » est une réflexion sur les témoignages extatiques et hallucinations du Moyen Âge. Razen et Libens se sont trouvés avec leur prédilection pour les techniques analogiques oubliées. « Het Moederkoren » devient un dialogue tant musical que visuel entre artistes qui improvisent.

L’œuvre d’Oona Libens – qu’on a pu voir la saison dernière pendant VIDEODROOM dans un Gouvernement plein à craquer – se situe dans le champ de l’archéologie des médias. Avec des moyens primitifs, des techniques de projection analogiques, des ombres et des lumières, elle crée des pièces visuelles qui tiennent le milieu entre le film d’animation abstrait et le documentaire pédagogique. 

Razen explore des mondes musicaux non orthodoxes à l’aide d’improvisations sur des instruments anciens à moitié oubliés tels que le chalumeau, le monocorde, le sarangi ou la vielle à roue. L’ensemble a convaincu des salles bondées, depuis le podium du légendaire Club Berghain de Berlin jusqu’à la petite église de Dranouter. Le 28 septembre paraît le nouvel album « Ayîk Adhîsta Adhîsta Ayîk » sur Kraak à l’occasion de leur 10 ans d’existence. 

 

 

Poor Isa 

Sous le nom de Poor Isa, le duo Ruben Machtelinckx et Frederik Leroux présente de nouveaux morceaux. Avec une combinaison de prepared banjo et de woodblocks, leurs improvisations débouchent sur des compositions murmurantes pleines de nuances subtiles et de sons à peine audibles.

Timetable

20:00 Doors
20:30 Poor Isa
21:30 Razen & Oona Libens present 'Het Moederkoren' 

"Once a very ‘rational’ looking person came up to me after a show with tears in his eyes — that’s success to me!"

- Oona Libens

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

INFO PRATIQUES

jeudi 21.11 - 20:00 Miry Concertzaal (Biezekapelstraat 9, 9000 Gent
€13 / 10
Music / experimenteel / minimal / impro

Crédits

« Het Moederkoren » est une coproduction de Vooruit, Kraak, MIRY Concertzaal & De Studio
En collaboration avec Kraak, De Studio & MIRY Concertzaal



      

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies