Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt
© Thijs Paijmans
Wed. 20.11.2019 20:00 - 23:00
Vooruit & Kraak present: EASTERN DAZE

Film screening ‘Chronopolis’ / Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt

Film screening ‘Chronopolis’ / Nadine Byrne
Wed 20.11.'19
20:00 - 23:00
  • Wed 20.11.'19
    20:00 - 23:00
    KASK Cinema (Godshuizenlaan 4, 9000 Gent)

Two alternate worlds on the boundary between dream and reality

On the first day of EASTERN DAZE we’ll be heading over to our good friends at KASK Cinema, where we’re screening the utterly unique animation film ‘Chronopolis’ with a soundtrack by the legendary Luc Ferrari. Followed by Maika Garnica and her musical companion and explorer Aika Devriendt, a duo fond of dreamlike performances with abstract shapes and flowing sonic forms. Two alternate worlds for the price of one.

Screening ‘Chronopolis’

Chronopolis is a gargantuan city somewhere in the vastness of space. The immortal inhabitants of the city, bored by their endless existence, one day decide to manipulate time itself. They do so by manipulating atomic particles and electricity and constructing bizarre objects in step with a repetitive rhythm. Ultimately they hope to come in contact with a human being.

This utterly unique animation film from 1982 is an original meditation on the notion of time. Director Piotr Kamler worked his claymation figures for no less than five years to create this film, and the result still stands up today, almost forty years later. ‘Chronopolis’ is a futuristic sci-fi fable that remains breathtakingly poetic in 2019.

The soundtrack for ‘Chronopolis’ is by none other than one of the godfathers of electro-acoustic music and musique concrète, Luc Ferrari. Ferrari, who would have turned 90 this year, was a legendary composer, who set a musical milestone in 1970 with his ‘Presque rien No. 1 - Le Lever du jour au bord de la mer’.


Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt

As an artist, Maika Garnica is most at home at the intersection of environment, viewer and artist. She attempts to understand the complex relationship between form and substance through the use of sculptural prototypes, with the body as the driving force behind social connections. At EASTERN DAZE, Garnica will be accompanied by musical explorer Aika Devriendt. Devriendt has followed courses in music therapy and composition and is active as a multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer for theatre, dance, film and installations. The duo will investigate the sonic spectrum of ceramic objects. They will follow their feelings and intuitions in translating this into atmospheric, almost dreamlike performances with abstract shapes and flowing sonic forms.

Online presale ends at 17h! There will be tickets available at the doors (€5).

Timetable

20:00 Doors KASK Cinema
20:30 Film screening 'Chronopolis' (50 min)
21:45 Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt (live) 

Nadine Byrne’s latest ‘Dreaming Remembering’, is a fascinating pandemodium

Fluid Radio UK

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Thomas Uyttendaele

Buy tickets with a discount

If you order 3 or more tickets, you will get a discount of up to 20%! Choose the events you wish to attend, buy your season tickets in one order and enjoy the discounted price!

Order season tickets

Practical

Wed 20.11 - 20:00 KASK Cinema (Godshuizenlaan 4, 9000 Gent)
€5
‘Chronopolis’ - 65 min
film / music / experimenteel / electronica 

Credits

Together with KRAAK, KASK Cinema & Meakusma Festival

   

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way your language choice will be remembered while surfing and ordering.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt
© Thijs Paijmans
mer. 20.11 20:00 - 23:00
Vooruit & Kraak present: EASTERN DAZE

Film screening ‘Chronopolis’ / Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt

Film screening ‘Chronopolis’ / Nadine Byrne
mer. 20.11
20:00 - 23:00
  • mer. 20.11
    20:00 - 23:00
    KASK Cinema (Godshuizenlaan 4, 9000 Gent)

Deux mondes alternatifs sur la frontière entre rêve et réalité

Le premier jour d’EASTERN DAZE, nous le passons chez nos amis de KASK Cinema, où nous voyons « Chronopolis », un film d’animation absolument unique avec musique du légendaire Luc Ferrari. Ensuite se produisent Maika Garnica et l’explorateur musical Aiko Devriendt : imaginez des performances d’ambiance de rêve aux figures abstraites et formes sonores fluides. Deux mondes alternatifs pour le prix d’un seul.

Screening ‘Chronopolis’

Chronopolis est une cité gargantuesque quelque part dans l’espace immense. Les habitants immortels de la ville s’ennuient dans leur existence sans fin et décident un jour de manipuler le temps. Ils le font en jouant avec des particules atomiques et l’électricité, et en construisant des objets bizarres sur un rythme monotone. L’objectif ultime de leurs activités est d’entrer en contact avec un être humain. 

Ce film d’animation complètement unique de 1982 constitue une méditation originale sur le temps. Le réalisateur Piotr Kamler a travaillé pas moins de 5 ans à ses personnages modelés en argile, mais le résultat reste toujours aussi percutant près de 40 ans plus tard. « Chronopolis » est une fable de science-fiction futuriste qui reste toujours aussi poétiquement belle en 2019. 

La bande-son de « Chronopolis » est signée Luc Ferrari, le fondateur de la musique électro-acoustique et de la musique concrète. Ferrari, qui aurait eu 90 ans cette année, était un compositeur légendaire, dont le « Presque rien No. 1 - Le Lever du jour au bord de la mer » de 1970 posa un jalon de la musique ambiante.


Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt

Maika Garnica se sent à l’aise au croisement entre le décor, le spectateur et l’artiste. Elle tente de comprendre la relation complexe entre forme et contenu par le biais de prototypes sculpturaux, avec le corps comme moteur des connexions sociales. Pendant EASTERN DAZE, Garnica reçoit la compagnie de l’explorateur musical Aiko Devriendt. Il a suivi des formations de musicothérapie et de composition, et est actif comme multi-instrumentaliste, compositeur et producteur pour le théâtre, la danse, le cinéma et les installations. Le duo étudie le spectre sonore de chaque objet céramique. De manière sentimentale et intuitive, il le transforme en prestations sensuelles, presque rêveuses, avec des figures abstraites et des formes sonores fluides.

Online presale ends at 17h! There will be tickets available at the doors (€5).

Une partie de:
EASTERN DAZE 2019

Timetable

20:00 Doors KASK Cinema
20:30 Film screening 'Chronopolis' (50 min)
21:45 Maika Garnica & Aiko Devriendt (live) 

Nadine Byrne’s latest ‘Dreaming Remembering’, is a fascinating pandemodium

Fluid Radio UK

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

© Thomas Uyttendaele

INFO PRATIQUES

mer 20.11 - 20:00 KASK Cinema (Godshuizenlaan 4, 9000 Gent)
€5
‘Chronopolis’ - 65 min
film / music / experimenteel / electronica 

Crédits

En collaboration avec KRAAK, KASK Cinema & Meakusma Festival

   

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. Par exemple, votre choix de langue sera mémorisé lors de la navigation et de la commande.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies