Last Yearz Interesting Negro 'BASICTENSION'
© Ayka Lux

Last Yearz Interesting Negro

'BASICTENSION'
Women and Children First
Sat. 07.03.2020 21:00 - 23:00
Sat 07.03.'20
21:00 - 23:00
  • Sat 07.03.'20
    21:00 - 23:00
    DOMZAAL

Dance as a radical social practice

“I started this project wanting to make meditation tapes to calm my rampant alienation and to slow my racing thoughts. But what does calm look like when you embody countless contradictions, conflicts and traumas? When language can't stretch to hold you and it was never your language anyway? When you look out at the city and it is like your beating heart, complicated, congested and broken? Some things need to break and I don't want space or distance but to assume my hybrid form right here. I want to break this space open.”

Jamila Johnson-Small

The performance ‘BASICTENSION’ is a study on dancing and thinking about dancing in the context of 'contemporary dance'. In this techno-meditation, Last Yearz Interesting Negro – the alias of British performer Jamila Johnson-Small – breaks down the walls between different realities and structures. ‘BASICTENSION’ in this way becomes a meditative and interactive game, where the body serves as archive and oracle.

Last Yearz Interesting Negro is the performance project of the London artist and dancer Jamila Johnson-Small. She returns to Vooruit for the second edition of WOMEN AND CHILDREN FIRST. In her work, Johnson-Small considers the impact of often invisible oppressive systemic forces on bodies and reflects on cultures  and histories of 'black expression'.

Buy tickets with a discount

If you order 3 or more tickets, you will get a discount of up to 20%! Choose the events you wish to attend, buy your season tickets in one order and enjoy the discounted price!

Order season tickets

Practical

sat 0t7.03 - 21:00 Domzaal
€12 / 10 / 8 / 8

language no problem

Credits

tekst: Rachel Baker, Jonathan Burrows, Matthew Carter, Teresa Cisneros, Rachael Dichter, Rosalie Doubal, Jane Frances Dunlop, Alexandrina Hemsley, Onyeka Igwe, Tyrone Isaac-Stuart, Mira Kautto, Gillie Kleiman, Manu Luksch, Alice MacKenzie, David Panos, Amy Tobin & Catherine Wood - met de steun van ICA (Londen) - met publieke financiering van Arts Council England Grants for the Arts (2017) - beeld © Dimitri Djuric

Last Yearz Interesting Negro 'BASICTENSION'
© Ayka Lux
sam. 07.03 21:00 - 23:00
Women and Children First

Last Yearz Interesting Negro

'BASICTENSION'
sam. 07.03
21:00 - 23:00
  • sam. 07.03
    21:00 - 23:00
    DOMZAAL

La danse comme expression sociale radicale

« J’ai commencé ce projet en voulant réaliser des bandes de méditation pour calmer mon aliénation sournoise et ralentir la course de mes pensées. Mais à quoi ressemble le calme lorsque vous incarnez des contradictions, conflits et traumatismes sans nombre ? Lorsque le langage ne peut pas s’étendre pour vous retenir, et ce n’a d’ailleurs jamais été votre langage ? Lorsque vous regardez la cité et qu’elle est comme votre cœur battant, compliqué, congestionné et brisé ? Certaines choses doivent se briser, et je ne veux pas d’espace ou de distance, mais assumer la forme hybride ici même. Je veux ouvrir cet espace. »

Jamila Johnson-Small

 La performance « BASICTENSION » éclaire différentes façons de bouger et de penser le mouvement. Lors d’une méditation techno aux sons et visuels oppressants, Last Yearz Interesting Negro – l’alias de la performer britannique Jamila Johnson-Small – abat les murs entre différentes réalités et structures. « BASICTENSION » devient ainsi un jeu méditatif et interactif dans lequel le corps fait office d’archive et d’oracle. 

Last Yearz Interesting Negro est le projet de performance de l’artiste et danseuse londonienne Jamila Johnson-Small. Elle revient au Vooruit pour la deuxième édition de WOMEN AND CHILDREN FIRST. Dans son œuvre, Johnson-Small trace l’impact de l’héritage invisible de racisme, de colonialisme, de misogynie, de dépaysement et d’homophobie. Elle part en quête des traces de cet impact dans l’histoire, la culture et les conventions existantes autour de « black expression ».

Une partie de la musique de ce spectacle a été composée pour « i ride in colour and soft focus, no longer anywhere », une production de Josh Anio Grigg, Phoebe Collings-James, Junior XL et Shelley Parker. Le reste de la bande-son sont des remix réalisés spécialement pour « BASICTENSION ».

Koop tickets aan voordeligere prijs

Vanaf 3 tickets geniet je van een voordelig tarief. Stel zelf een abonnement samen met minstens 3 events en krijg een korting tot 20%.

Button bestel abonnement

Praktisch

za 07.03 - 21:00 Domzaal
€12 / 10 / 8 / 8
language no problem
podium, performance

Crédits

tekst: Rachel Baker, Jonathan Burrows, Matthew Carter, Teresa Cisneros, Rachael Dichter, Rosalie Doubal, Jane Frances Dunlop, Alexandrina Hemsley, Onyeka Igwe, Tyrone Isaac-Stuart, Mira Kautto, Gillie Kleiman, Manu Luksch, Alice MacKenzie, David Panos, Amy Tobin & Catherine Wood - met de steun van ICA (Londen) - met publieke financiering van Arts Council England Grants for the Arts (2017) - beeld © Dimitri Djuric

Cookies
Kunstencentrum Vooruit maakt gebruik van cookies. Omdat wij jouw privacy willen waarborgen én de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van je bezoek aan onze website willen verbeteren. Wij vinden het belangrijk dat je weet hoe en waarom wij deze gebruiken.
Meer informatie over jouw privacy & cookies