Toni Kanwa Adikusumah
Amen & Beyond

Amenra / Beyond The Spoken / Toni Kanwa Adikusumah

Uit handen geven
Sat 25.05
22:30
  • Sat 25.05
    22:30 - 23:30
    Citadelpark Gent
    free

Burning ritual with live music for all Ghent’s unacknowledged loss 

For AMEN & BEYOND, Amenra and Beyond the Spoken have joine forces to organise a burning ritual for all the unacknowledged loss of Ghent’s citizens. This could include positive events, such as becoming 10 years old and saying goodbye to a number, or the celebration of a child’s first steps ... It could also be about unrecognised turning points in our lives, such as a divorce, a serious operation or the loss of a foster child. In short, turning points that are not always met with the same amount of understanding in our society.

Amenra and Beyond the Spoken will work together with the Indonesian artist Toni Kanwa Adikusumah. For years, Kanwa has attempted to connect the contemporary art world with the rituals of the Sunda tradition, which are practiced on an island group east of Bali, where the inhabitants opt for a deliberately primitive existence. In the Sunda tradition, sculpture is considered a ‘carrier of strength’ and is only used for ritual purposes. The artist follows the internal flow of life of the material and allows this to flow intuitively into new forms. In this way he creates a lively dialogue between the microcosmos of the material and the macrocosmos of the environment. Kanwa will create a sculpture that symbolises the unacknowledged loss of Ghent. Grievances big and small can be left with the sculpture over the course of ten days at the Vooruit Café.

On 25 May, he will lead the ceremony in which this sculpture is burned and in doing so help us to let go of the shared grief. The powerful music of Amenra will provide musical support for the ritual. For 20 years now Amenra has been connecting people through their post-metal music, in which they transform personal demons into new energy and strength. By experiencing individual grief collectively, the grief is partially dissolved in a feeling of solidarity. A moment of collective introspection.

Een moment van collectieve introspectie.

Part of
Amen & Beyond

Credits

Citadelpark Ghent next to Monterey - 22u30 (subject to change) 

Cookies
Kunstencentrum Vooruit maakt gebruik van cookies. Omdat wij jouw privacy willen waarborgen én de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van je bezoek aan onze website willen verbeteren. Wij vinden het belangrijk dat je weet hoe en waarom wij deze gebruiken.
Meer informatie over jouw privacy & cookies

Amenra / Beyond The Spoken / Toni Kanwa Adikusumah - ‘Uit Handen Geven’
Toni Kanwa Adikusumah
Amen & Beyond

Amenra / Beyond The Spoken / Toni Kanwa Adikusumah

Uit handen geven
sam. 25.05
22:30
  • sam. 25.05
    22:30 - 23:30
    Citadelpark Gent
    Évenement passé

Vuurritueel met livemuziek van Amenra voor al het niet-erkend verlies van Gent 

Pour AMEN & BEYOND, Amenra et Beyond The Spoken créent ensemble un rituel du feu pour la perte non reconnue de Gand. Il peut s’agir aussi bien d’événements positifs, par exemple fêter ses 10 ans et donc dire adieu à 1 seul chiffre, ou fêter les premiers pas de son bambin ; que de « tournants » non reconnus, comme une séparation, une opération grave ou la perte d’un enfant placé. Bref, des « tournants » qui ne bénéficient pas toujours d’une grande compréhension dans notre société.

Pour cela, ils collaborent avec l’artiste indonésien Toni Kanwa Adikusmah. Depuis des années, ce dernier s’efforce de créer un lien entre les rituels de la tradition de la Sonde, un groupe d’îles à l’est de la Bali qui a décidé sciemment de poursuivre un mode de vie primitif, et le monde actuel de l’art. Dans la tradition de la Sonde, la sculpture est synonyme de « porteur de force » et sert exclusivement à des fins rituelles. L’artiste suit le flux de vie interne de la matière et la laisse couler intuitivement en une nouvelle forme. De cette manière, il crée un dialogue vivant entre le microcosme de la matière et le macrocosme de l’entourage. Kanwa réalisera une sculpture qui symbolise la perte non reconnue de la ville de Gand. Pendant dix jours, tout le monde peut confier ses petites et grandes tristesses à la sculpture.

Le 25 mai, il dirigera la cérémonie pour brûler cette statue et aider à lâcher la tristesse partagée. Le rituel sera encadré par la puissante musique d’Amenra. Depuis vingt ans déjà, Amenra rassemble le public grâce à leur post-métal dans lequel ils transforment leurs démons personnels en une énergie et une force neuves. Le vécu collectif de la tristesse individuelle permet de la fondre en partie en un sentiment de communauté. Un moment d’introspection collective.

Een moment van collectieve introspectie. Gratis at Citadelpark Gent (22:30 stipt!)

Une partie de:
Amen & Beyond
Toni Kanwa Adikusumah

Crédits

Locatie: Citadelpark - tussen Smak & Monterey - aanvangsuur: 22u30 

Cookies
Kunstencentrum Vooruit maakt gebruik van cookies. Omdat wij jouw privacy willen waarborgen én de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van je bezoek aan onze website willen verbeteren. Wij vinden het belangrijk dat je weet hoe en waarom wij deze gebruiken.
Meer informatie over jouw privacy & cookies